Thursday, August 11, 2022

Story By Akinola Emmanuel, February 15, 2021

Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) this morning released much anticipated local government election timetable and guidelines into the 33 local government areas in Oyo State.

According to the Commission Chairman, Isiaka Olagunju, stakeholders are hereby enjoined to give their support and cooperation to the commission to be able to organise and conduct free, fair, credible and transparent local government election in Oyo State.

The statement reads:

“In compliance with Section 30 Electoral Act 2010 (as amended), Section 5 (a) and Paragraph 1 (1) Schedule 2 of the State Independent Electoral Commission Law CAP 154, Laws of Oyo State of Nigeria 2000, the general public is hereby informed that Elections will be conducted in thirty- three (33) Local Government Councils in Oyo State on Saturday, 15th May, 2021 between 8:00a.m. and 3.00p.m.”

“In the circumstance, prospective candidates are expected to obtain nomination forms in respect of the elections into their Local Government Councils at the Commission’s Headquarters at Quarters 484, Total Garden-Gate Road, Agodi GRA, Ibadan. Oyo State on or before Monday 30th April 2021 upon payment of the sum of (A) N250,000:00k (Two Hundred and Fifty Thousand Naira) only for the
position of Chairman or (B) N100,000:00k (One Hundred Thousand Naira Only) for the position of a Councilor.”

“The relevant prescribed fee(s) as stated above shall be payable to either The OYSIEC (Chairmanship) Zenith Bank Account No. 1211862568 or The OYSIEC (Councillorship) Zenith Bank Account No. 1211851234 respectively depending on the position the candidate is contesting for in the elections.”

“The breakdown of the election time table is as follows: NOTICE AND TIME TABLE OF 2021 ELECTIONS INTO THIRTY THREE (33) LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCILS IN OYO STATE ON SATURDAY, 15th MAY, 2021 BETWEEN 8:00a.m. AND 3.00pm


  1. Monday, 15th February, 2021
    (a) Publication of notice of Election
    (b) Release of Election Time Table
    (c) Release of Election Guidelines
  2. Wednesday, 17th February -Friday, 14th May 2021

(a) Commencement of Political Activities
(b) Commencement and end of Campaigns by Political Parties

  1. Monday, 22nd February – Wednesday, 10th March, 2021.
    Conduct of Party Primaries by Political Parties and observation of
    Primaries by the Commission
  2. Friday 12th March- Friday 19th March 2021 –

Display of Voters register
Collection of Personal Data Forms for candidates by Political

  1. Monday 22nd March – Friday 26th March 2021
    Submission of Personal Data Forms for candidates by Political
  2. Saturday 27th March -6th April, 2021
    Verification/Screening of Councillorship Candidates
  3. Monday 5th April –Tuesday 6th April 2021

Verification/Screening of Chairmanship candidates

  1. Wednesday, 7th April 2021
    Delivery of list of qualified candidates to political political parties
    by OYSIEC
  2. Friday 9th April –Sunday 11th April 2021
    Appeals/Substitution of un-cleared candidates
  3. Wednesday, 14th –Friday 16th April 2021
    Screening of substituted candidates by OYSIEC
  4. Tuesday 20th April – Friday 30th April 2021
    Collection of Nomination Forms by all cleared candidates
  5. Wednesday, 5th May – Thursday 6th May 2021
    Submission of nomination Forms by all Cleared candidates by
    political parties
  6. Friday, 7th May 2021
    Publication of names of qualified candidates
  7. Monday 10th May –Friday 14th My 2021
    a Submission of names and addresses of Parties’ agents to the
    b Publication of Notice of Polls
  8. Friday, 14th May, 2021
    End of Electioneering campaign (12 midnight)
  9. Saturday, 15th May, 2021
    ELECTION DAY (8:00 A.M – 3:00 P. M.)
  10. Saturday, 22nd May, 2021
    In conclusion, stakeholders are hereby enjoined to give
    their support and cooperation to the Commission so as to
    organize and conduct a free, fair, credible and transparent
    local government councils elections in Oyo State.”
Banner Content