Friday, September 17, 2021

Story By Akinola Emmanuel, Monday April 12, 2021

The Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde on Monday evening scored another political point as his candidate, former Oyo deputy governor, Taofeek Arapaja won the Monday Zonal PDP congress in Osogbo.

The votes were counted under the watchful eye of the Electoral Committee Chairman, Benson Abounu and Osita Chidoka, the Chairman of the Monitoring Committee.

From a total number of 748 registered delegates as made available by the Chairman of the South West Electoral Committee, Benson Abounu, 684 delegates were accredited and after 674 votes were cast, 10 votes were voided, leaving 674 valid votes.

In conceding defeat, Dr. Eddy Olafeso congratulated the winner and thanked all his supporters including former Governor Ayodele Fayose for the love and support shown him.

Olafeso acknowledged all the delegates for the peace and tranquillity experienced during the congress and assured that with Governor Seyi Makinde in Oyo, the South West will be controlled by the PDP.

Meanwhile, the winner Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja thanked all his supporters for the love and for casting their votes in his favour.

He said: “I was moved by what the delegates did including former Governor Ayodele Fayose of Ekiti State.

“He assured that with the victory achieved he was going to work with his opponent in ensuring that the PDP is repositioned to dominate the South West and the Nigeria at large.”

Banner Content