Wednesday, October 27, 2021

Story By Akinola Emmanuel, January 26, 2021

President Muhammadu Buhari has finally accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral
Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

Disclosing this was Mr Femi Adesina, Media and publicity adviser to President Buhari.

He stated that the President thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our
dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.

Banner Content