Thursday, July 7, 2022

Sunday June 19, 2022

Abiodun Oyebanji, candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Saturday’s governorship election in Ekiti State, has been declared winner of the exercise.

Oyebanji, who secured victory in 15 of the 16 Local Government Areas of the State, polled a total of 187,057 votes.

Segun Oni, his closest rival polled a total of 82,211 votes while Bis Kolawole of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), trailed with 67,457 votes.

Professor Kayode Adebowale, returning officer for the election, declared Oyebanji winner at a few minutes past 3am on Sunday.

Nigeria Alert reports that Abiodun Oyebanji of the APC won in the LGAs of Ikere, Emure, Ekiti South West, Ekiti West, Oye, Irepodun/Ifelodun, Ikole, Ido-Osi, and Ise/Orun, according to results announced at the LGA collation centres.

Bisi Kolawole of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won Efon Alaye LGA, while Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) has yet to win a single LGA.

The election’s final results was announced at the state collation center in Ado Ekiti, the state capital.

Oyebanji won the election with 187,057 votes, while Engr Segun Oni, the standard bearer of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), came in second with 82, 211 votes.

Banner Content