26 Ogun APC Lawmakers Defect to APM


The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ogun state has lost no fewer than 26 lawmakers in the state House of Assembly to the Allied Peoples Movement (APM).

The defectors were aggrieved aspirants, who alleged that the mandate given to them during October 7 legislative primary of the APC was stolen by the national leadership of the ruling party.

It was gathered that one of the defectors, Lamidi Olatunji, said they “have come to inevitable conclusion to actualise their ambitions in APM.”

He said: “We also wish to acknowledge the fatherly role of President Muhammadu Buhari in seeking to sustain the tenets of democracy fairness and equity in the resolution of the crisis in Ogun APC.

“We regret that Mr President’s efforts were frustrated by the forces that are hellbent in taking the Southwest back to the dark age of slavery where unelected kingpins direct the affairs of the people.”

Among the defectors were two serving commissioners, Dayo Adeneye (information and strategy) and Modupe Mujota (education, science and technology) were among the defectors.

Follow us

Olubadan, High Chiefs Settle Differences after 26 Months’ Rift https://t.co/3Sea5u8ejw
Edo Assembly Crisis: ‘I Won’t Issue Fresh Proclamation for Inauguration’ - Obaseki Replies Senate https://t.co/v6Ahtr18jf
NNPC has No Secret Account, Says GMD https://t.co/N1U9cvWfjn
Presidential Election: Supreme Court to Hear Atiku’s Appeal August 20 https://t.co/JFyPb0CIfE
Follow NigerianAlert on Twitter